Shortlist: Boiling Point

25. July 12:00h until 14:00h at Kino 1

Escape, prosecution, racism, climate change, over consumption – these crises which appear in most aspects of our society have long become part of our everyday lives. The films shortlisted in ‘Boiling point’ explore their impact on individuals and their personal lives and experiences.

Handbook for a Privileged European Woman

Germany | 2021 | Short Film | 10 Min. | English
Handbook for a Privileged European Woman

Whether it’s sexual harassment or the glass ceiling: Jackie is aware of how bad and also how good she has it as a white European woman. With a decent amount of pussy power and the efficacy of postmodern Hollywood aesthetics, Jackie offers tips for the privileged and sometimes not-so-privileged life in the postfeminist patriarchy.

Whether it’s sexual harassment or the glass ceiling: Jackie is aware of how bad and also how good she has it as a white European woman. With a decent amount of pussy power and the efficacy of postmodern Hollywood aesthetics, Jackie offers tips for the privileged and sometimes not-so-privileged life in the postfeminist patriarchy.

Director:
Alma Buddecke
Camera:
Sebastian Ganschow
Cast:
Aggy K. Adams
Editing:
Vreni Sarnes
Sound mixer:
Johann Meis
Production designer:
Hannah Siegfried

Megamall

Switzerland | 2020 | Animated Film | 4 Min. | Without Dialogue
Megamall

A world of escalators, where remote-controlled figures follow their longing for consumption. Everything’s flowing in its predetermined rhythm, until one of the figures is pulled into a weightless room through the escalator, and a dog disturbs the megamall’s monotony.

A world of escalators, where remote-controlled figures follow their longing for consumption. Everything’s flowing in its predetermined rhythm, until one of the figures is pulled into a weightless room through the escalator, and a dog disturbs the megamall’s monotony.

Director:
Aline Schoch
Animation:
Aline Schoch
Music:
Serafin Aebli
Sound designer:
Loïc Kreyden

A Letter from Raqqa

Germany, Syria | 2020 | Documentary Short | 9 Min. | English, Arabic (English Subtitles)
A Letter from Raqqa

An essay on war, loss, and what remains – silent images of deserted, war-torn Raqqa impressively remind us of how valuable our everyday life is, and how it hurts when it’s gone.

An essay on war, loss, and what remains – silent images of deserted, war-torn Raqqa impressively remind us of how valuable our everyday life is, and how it hurts when it’s gone.

Director:
Arash Asadi
Producers:
Antonia Kilian, Azad Evdike
Cinematographer:
Antonia Kilian
Sound designer:
Gerald Mandl

Swelling

South Korea | 2021 | Short Film | 24 Min. | Korean (English Subtitles)
Swelling

North-Korean refugee Mu Taek works as a boxing coach in South Korea. At the same time he is still looking for his wife who disappeared during their flight. But help is not for free. A sparring fight against the boxing world’s rising star could help him solve all his financial problems – but he never wanted to be back inside the ring.

North-Korean refugee Mu Taek works as a boxing coach in South Korea. At the same time he is still looking for his wife who disappeared during their flight. But help is not for free. A sparring fight against the boxing world’s rising star could help him solve all his financial problems – but he never wanted to be back inside the ring.

Director:
Sangkyu KIM
Producer:
Tacksu SHIN
Screenplay:
Sangkyu KIM
Cast:
Youngwook JIN, Seho LEE, Jaeseong RYU
Cinematographer:
Dongik KIM
Editing:
Wonjun JEONG
Music:
Kwangho CHO
Sound designer:
Jungu JANG

The battle for our voices

Germany, Poland | 2020 | Documentary Short | 13 Min. | Polish (English Subtitles)
The battle for our voices

Natalia is the founder of the Polish women’s strike and one of many activists who fight against the strict abortion ban in Poland. The film accompanies the union and gives an insight into the structures of socio-political involvement, and the worldwide network of women who fight for their right to have autonomy over their bodies.

Natalia is the founder of the Polish women’s strike and one of many activists who fight against the strict abortion ban in Poland. The film accompanies the union and gives an insight into the structures of socio-political involvement, and the worldwide network of women who fight for their right to have autonomy over their bodies.

Director:
Jennifer Mallmann
Producer:
Fabienne Priess
Camera:
Markus Ott
Cast:
Marta Lempart, Natalia Pancewicz
Editing:
Wolfgang Purkhauser
Music:
Victoria Hillestad
Sound designer:
Marius Bohnhardt
Sound mixer:
Marius Bohnhardt

Obervogelgesang

Germany | 2020 | Animated Film | 6 Min. | German (English Subtitles)
Obervogelgesang

“Those freaking 33 percent, where were they?” Lovis asks herself as she discovers a clearly right radical slogan on the regional train. She starts counting: “One, two, Nazi. One, two, Nazi.” In anger, she exits the train at the next stop. Stranded on the platform, she is confronted with the question: What now?

“Those freaking 33 percent, where were they?” Lovis asks herself as she discovers a clearly right radical slogan on the regional train. She starts counting: “One, two, Nazi. One, two, Nazi.” In anger, she exits the train at the next stop. Stranded on the platform, she is confronted with the question: What now?

Directors:
Ferdinand Ehrhardt, Elisabeth Weinberger
Producer:
Malin Krüger
Screenplay:
Ferdinand Ehrhardt, Elisabeth Weinberger
Animation:
Ferdinand Ehrhardt, Elisabeth Weinberger, Paula Wittich
Editing:
Andreas Bothe
Music:
Hannes Bieber
Sound designer:
Henrike Sommer
Voice:
Ronja Peters

Deutschland ist ein Trampolin / Germany is a Trampoline

Germany | 2021 | Documentary Short | 28 Min. | German (English Subtitles)
Deutschland ist ein Trampolin

Romeo got a major in philosophy in Germany and misses his home country Cameroon. Demian was deported back there after graduation and has been selling second hand products at the market ever since. It’s his biggest wish to return to Germany. Both of them want to live an autonomous life, but simply can’t.

Romeo got a major in philosophy in Germany and misses his home country Cameroon. Demian was deported back there after graduation and has been selling second hand products at the market ever since. It’s his biggest wish to return to Germany. Both of them want to live an autonomous life, but simply can’t.

Director:
Marc Sebastian Eils
Cinematographer:
Hannes Schulze
Editing:
Marc Sebastian Eils
Sound designer:
Nils Plambeck

Tickets

Due to the applicable Corona regulations, we expressly refer to our hygiene measures.

Contact us

50th International Student Film Festival Sehsüchte
Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF

Marlene-Dietrich-Allee 11
14482 Potsdam-Babelsberg
GERMANY

  +49 (0)331 6202 780

 

Wir benutzen Cookies um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Deinen Besuch stimmst Du dem zu.

Shortlist: Boiling Point

25. Juli 12:00h bis 14:00h im Kino 1

Flucht, Vertreibung, Rassismus, Klimawandel, Überkonsum – die in verschiedensten Bereichen der Gesellschaft auftretenden Krisen sind längst Teil des Alltags geworden. Die Filme der Shortlist Boiling Point erkunden, was dies für Individuen und ihr persönliches (Er)Leben bedeuten kann.

Handbook for a Privileged European Woman

Germany | 2021 | Short Film | 10 Min. | English
Handbook for a Privileged European Woman

Ob sexuelle Belästigung oder die gläserne Decke, Jackie weiß wie schlecht, aber auch gleichzeitig wie gut es ihr als weiße, europäische Frau geht. Mit gehörig viel Pussypower und der geballten Zeichenmacht postmoderner Hollywood-Ästhetik, liefert Jackie Tipps für das privilegierte und eben auch nicht so privilegierte Leben im postfeministischen Patriarchat.

Ob sexuelle Belästigung oder die gläserne Decke, Jackie weiß wie schlecht, aber auch gleichzeitig wie gut es ihr als weiße, europäische Frau geht. Mit gehörig viel Pussypower und der geballten Zeichenmacht postmoderner Hollywood-Ästhetik, liefert Jackie Tipps für das privilegierte und eben auch nicht so privilegierte Leben im postfeministischen Patriarchat.

Director:
Alma Buddecke
Camera:
Sebastian Ganschow
Cast:
Aggy K. Adams
Editing:
Vreni Sarnes
Sound mixer:
Johann Meis
Production designer:
Hannah Siegfried

Megamall

Switzerland | 2020 | Animated Film | 4 Min. | Without Dialogue
Megamall

Eine Rolltreppenwelt, in der Figuren wie ferngesteuert ihrer Konsumlust nachgehen. Alles hat seinen vorgegebenen Rhythmus, bis eine der Figuren durch die Rolltreppe in einen schwerelosen Raum gezogen wird und ein Hund die Monotonie der Megamall zerstört.

Eine Rolltreppenwelt, in der Figuren wie ferngesteuert ihrer Konsumlust nachgehen. Alles hat seinen vorgegebenen Rhythmus, bis eine der Figuren durch die Rolltreppe in einen schwerelosen Raum gezogen wird und ein Hund die Monotonie der Megamall zerstört.

Director:
Aline Schoch
Animation:
Aline Schoch
Music:
Serafin Aebli
Sound designer:
Loïc Kreyden

A Letter from Raqqa

Germany, Syria | 2020 | Documentary Short | 9 Min. | English, Arabic (English Subtitles)
A Letter from Raqqa

Ein Essay über Krieg, Verlust und dem, was bleibt – stille Bilder des menschenleeren, vom Krieg zerstörten Raqqa erinnern eindrucksvoll, wie bewahrenswert das alltägliche Leben ist und wie schmerzlich es ist, wenn es verschwindet.

Ein Essay über Krieg, Verlust und dem, was bleibt – stille Bilder des menschenleeren, vom Krieg zerstörten Raqqa erinnern eindrucksvoll, wie bewahrenswert das alltägliche Leben ist und wie schmerzlich es ist, wenn es verschwindet.

Director:
Arash Asadi
Producers:
Antonia Kilian, Azad Evdike
Cinematographer:
Antonia Kilian
Sound designer:
Gerald Mandl

Swelling

South Korea | 2021 | Short Film | 24 Min. | Korean (English Subtitles)
Swelling

Der nordkoreanische Geflüchtete Mu Taek arbeitet als Boxtrainer in Südkorea. Gleichzeitig sucht er nach seiner Frau, die auf der gemeinsamen Flucht verschwunden ist. Doch Hilfe gibt es nicht umsonst. Ein Trainingskampf gegen den Shooting Star der Boxwelt bietet die Möglichkeit seine Geldprobleme zu lösen – eigentlich wollte er nie wieder in den Ring.

Der nordkoreanische Geflüchtete Mu Taek arbeitet als Boxtrainer in Südkorea. Gleichzeitig sucht er nach seiner Frau, die auf der gemeinsamen Flucht verschwunden ist. Doch Hilfe gibt es nicht umsonst. Ein Trainingskampf gegen den Shooting Star der Boxwelt bietet die Möglichkeit seine Geldprobleme zu lösen – eigentlich wollte er nie wieder in den Ring.

Director:
Sangkyu KIM
Producer:
Tacksu SHIN
Screenplay:
Sangkyu KIM
Cast:
Youngwook JIN, Seho LEE, Jaeseong RYU
Cinematographer:
Dongik KIM
Editing:
Wonjun JEONG
Music:
Kwangho CHO
Sound designer:
Jungu JANG

The battle for our voices

Germany, Poland | 2020 | Documentary Short | 13 Min. | Polish (English Subtitles)
The battle for our voices

Natalia ist Gründerin des polnischen Frauenstreiks und eine von vielen Aktivist:innen, die gegen das scharfe Abtreibungsverbot Polens kämpfen. Der Film begleitet das Bündnis und blickt in die Abläufe gesellschaftspolitischen Engagements und der weltweiten Vernetzung von Frauen, die für ihre Rechte auf körperliche Selbstbestimmung eintreten.

Natalia ist Gründerin des polnischen Frauenstreiks und eine von vielen Aktivist:innen, die gegen das scharfe Abtreibungsverbot Polens kämpfen. Der Film begleitet das Bündnis und blickt in die Abläufe gesellschaftspolitischen Engagements und der weltweiten Vernetzung von Frauen, die für ihre Rechte auf körperliche Selbstbestimmung eintreten.

Director:
Jennifer Mallmann
Producer:
Fabienne Priess
Camera:
Markus Ott
Cast:
Marta Lempart, Natalia Pancewicz
Editing:
Wolfgang Purkhauser
Music:
Victoria Hillestad
Sound designer:
Marius Bohnhardt
Sound mixer:
Marius Bohnhardt

Obervogelgesang

Germany | 2020 | Animated Film | 6 Min. | German (English Subtitles)
Obervogelgesang

“Diese beschissenen 33 Prozent, wo waren sie?” fragt sich Lovis, als sie im Regionalexpress einen offensichtlich rechtsradikalen Schriftzug entdeckt. Sie zählt durch: “Eins, zwei, Nazi. Eins, zwei, Nazi.” Wütend verlässt sie an der nächsten Haltestelle Hals über Kopf den Zug. Am Bahnsteig gestrandet steht sie vor der Frage: Was jetzt?

“Diese beschissenen 33 Prozent, wo waren sie?” fragt sich Lovis, als sie im Regionalexpress einen offensichtlich rechtsradikalen Schriftzug entdeckt. Sie zählt durch: “Eins, zwei, Nazi. Eins, zwei, Nazi.” Wütend verlässt sie an der nächsten Haltestelle Hals über Kopf den Zug. Am Bahnsteig gestrandet steht sie vor der Frage: Was jetzt?

Directors:
Ferdinand Ehrhardt, Elisabeth Weinberger
Producer:
Malin Krüger
Screenplay:
Ferdinand Ehrhardt, Elisabeth Weinberger
Animation:
Ferdinand Ehrhardt, Elisabeth Weinberger, Paula Wittich
Editing:
Andreas Bothe
Music:
Hannes Bieber
Sound designer:
Henrike Sommer
Voice:
Ronja Peters

Deutschland ist ein Trampolin / Germany is a Trampoline

Germany | 2021 | Documentary Short | 28 Min. | German (English Subtitles)
Deutschland ist ein Trampolin

Romeo hat Philosophie in Deutschland studiert und sehnt sich zurück nach seiner Heimat Kamerun. Demian wurde nach seinem Schulabschluss dorthin abgeschoben und verkauft seitdem Second-Hand-Ware auf dem Markt. Sein großer Wunsch ist es, nach Deutschland zurückzukehren. Beide wollen selbstbestimmt leben, können es aber nicht

Romeo hat Philosophie in Deutschland studiert und sehnt sich zurück nach seiner Heimat Kamerun. Demian wurde nach seinem Schulabschluss dorthin abgeschoben und verkauft seitdem Second-Hand-Ware auf dem Markt. Sein großer Wunsch ist es, nach Deutschland zurückzukehren. Beide wollen selbstbestimmt leben, können es aber nicht

Director:
Marc Sebastian Eils
Cinematographer:
Hannes Schulze
Editing:
Marc Sebastian Eils
Sound designer:
Nils Plambeck

Tickets

Aufgrund der geltenden Corona-Bestimmungen weisen wir ausdrücklich auf unsere Hygienemaßnahmen hin.

Kontakt

50. Internationales Studierendenfilmfestival Sehsüchte
Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF

Marlene-Dietrich-Allee 11
14482 Potsdam-Babelsberg

  +49 (0)331 6202 780

 

Wir benutzen Cookies um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Deinen Besuch stimmst Du dem zu.