Striking Matches

24. July 17:00h until 19:00h at Kino 1

Where are our roots? And do we share this place with our parents? In two personal documentaries, the directors observe their own sense of longing for home together with that of their parents, discussing what of these they brought with them from childhood and building bridges from Germany to Brazil and Vietnam.

Saudade

Germany, Brazil | 2019 | Documentary Short | 30 Min. | English, German, Portuguese (English Subtitles)
Saudade

‘Saudade’ describes the emotion between longing, loss and joy. When her father’s health worsens, Brazilian filmmaker Denize Galiao embarks on a beautifully painful journey between two continents – searching for her roots and the feeling of belonging.

‘Saudade’ describes the emotion between longing, loss and joy. When her father’s health worsens, Brazilian filmmaker Denize Galiao embarks on a beautifully painful journey between two continents – searching for her roots and the feeling of belonging.

Director:
Denize Galiao
Cinematographer:
Dino Osmanovic (ASBH)
Editing:
Valeria Valenzuela
Film school:
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München

Mein Vietnam / My Vietnam

Germany | 2020 | Documentary Feature | 70 Min. | Vietnamese (English Subtitles)
Mein Vietnam

When married couple Bay and Tam fled Vietnam and came to Germany 30 years ago, their children’s future was the priority. With great restraint, the film observes and reveals melancholic connections to their old home, which they sustain through video chats, boozy karaoke nights and streamed funerals.

When married couple Bay and Tam fled Vietnam and came to Germany 30 years ago, their children’s future was the priority. With great restraint, the film observes and reveals melancholic connections to their old home, which they sustain through video chats, boozy karaoke nights and streamed funerals.

Directors:
Hien Mai, Tim Ellrich
Producer:
Leopold Pape
Cinematographer:
Tim Ellrich
Editing:
Tobias Wilhelmer
Sound designer:
Marco Schnebel
Sound mixer:
Volker Amrbruster

Tickets

Due to the applicable Corona regulations, we expressly refer to our hygiene measures.

Contact us

50th International Student Film Festival Sehsüchte
Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF

Marlene-Dietrich-Allee 11
14482 Potsdam-Babelsberg
GERMANY

  +49 (0)331 6202 780

 

Wir benutzen Cookies um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Deinen Besuch stimmst Du dem zu.

Striking Matches

24. Juli 17:00h bis 19:00h im Kino 1

Wo sind wir verwurzelt? Und ist dieser Ort auch derselbe für unsere Eltern? In zwei Dokumentarfilmen beobachten die Filmemacher*innen die Sehnsucht nach Heimat bei sich und ihren Eltern, erörtern was sie aus Kindheit und Jugend von diesen mitgenommen haben und schlagen die Brücken von Deutschland nach Brasilien und Vietnam.

Saudade

Germany, Brazil | 2019 | Documentary Short | 30 Min. | English, German, Portuguese (English Subtitles)
Saudade

Saudade beschreibt ein Gefühl zwischen Sehnsucht, Verlust und Freude. Als ihr Vater immer kränker wird, macht sich die brasilianische Filmemacherin Denize Galiao auf eine schmerzlich-schöne Reise zwischen zwei Kontinenten – auf der Suche nach ihren Wurzeln und Heimat.

Saudade beschreibt ein Gefühl zwischen Sehnsucht, Verlust und Freude. Als ihr Vater immer kränker wird, macht sich die brasilianische Filmemacherin Denize Galiao auf eine schmerzlich-schöne Reise zwischen zwei Kontinenten – auf der Suche nach ihren Wurzeln und Heimat.

Director:
Denize Galiao
Cinematographer:
Dino Osmanovic (ASBH)
Editing:
Valeria Valenzuela
Film school:
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München

Mein Vietnam / My Vietnam

Germany | 2020 | Documentary Feature | 70 Min. | Vietnamese (English Subtitles)
Mein Vietnam

Als das Ehepaar Bay und Tam vor 30 Jahren aus Vietnam nach Deutschland flüchtete, stand die Zukunft ihrer Kinder an erster Stelle. Mit beobachtender Zurückhaltung offenbart der Film wehmütige Verbindungen zur alten Heimat, die sie über Videochats aufrecht erhalten, beim feuchtfröhlichen Karaoke-Abend oder der gestreamten Beerdigungszeremonie.

Als das Ehepaar Bay und Tam vor 30 Jahren aus Vietnam nach Deutschland flüchtete, stand die Zukunft ihrer Kinder an erster Stelle. Mit beobachtender Zurückhaltung offenbart der Film wehmütige Verbindungen zur alten Heimat, die sie über Videochats aufrecht erhalten, beim feuchtfröhlichen Karaoke-Abend oder der gestreamten Beerdigungszeremonie.

Directors:
Hien Mai, Tim Ellrich
Producer:
Leopold Pape
Cinematographer:
Tim Ellrich
Editing:
Tobias Wilhelmer
Sound designer:
Marco Schnebel
Sound mixer:
Volker Amrbruster
Kontakt

50. Internationales Studierendenfilmfestival Sehsüchte
Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF

Marlene-Dietrich-Allee 11
14482 Potsdam-Babelsberg

  +49 (0)331 6202 780

 

Wir benutzen Cookies um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Deinen Besuch stimmst Du dem zu.