Winners 2017

The winners of the 46th International Student Film Festival Sehsüchte 2017:

Best Feature Film - 5.000 Euro

Includes prize money of 5.000 Euro, sponsored by ILB – Investitionsbank des Landes Brandenburg.

Hymyilevä Mies / The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki

Feature Film | Finland 2016 | Juho Kuosmanen | 93‘

Hymyilevä Mies

What the jury says:

From the first moment on one is sucked into this film.

With sensitive character development, loving scene ideas, harmonious rhythm changes and an excellent cast up to the smallest supporting roles, the director transports us into a different time. A sport as well as a love story that uses the classic development of a narration and trusts its characters. We greatly respect all the trades – equipment, make-up, costume, camera and especially the sound and that they truly managed to realize Juho’s vision. This film is told precisely, with surprising twists and a vivid lightness. Happily we came to a unanimous judgement: Congratulations Hymyilevä Mies or The happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki. 

Best Documentary - 5.000 Euro

Includes prize money of 5.000 Euro, sponsored by rbb Fernsehen.

Hinter dem Schneesturm / Beyond the Snowstorm

Documentary | Germany 2016 | Levin Peter | 92‘

Hinter dem Schneesturm

What the jury says:

The director visualizes remembering as a process and inner struggle in a remarkable way. He confronts us with guilt and pain that lasts. This very personal approach enables us to build a relationship to our own history, and motivates us to search for a dialogue between generations. A complex narration is opened up, that does not let us go, especially through the sensitive sound design.

Special Mention:

Herr und Frau Müller / Mr and Mrs Mueller

Documentary | Germany 2016 | Dominique Klein | 15‘

Herr und Frau Müller

What the jury says:

It is impressive how such a difficult topic is treated with such lightness and humor. With few strokes the filmmakers succeeded in creating a great love story, that is only 14 minutes long.

Best Short Film - 2.500 Euro

Includes prize money of 2.500 Euro, sponsored by Flare Films and Schnittlauch Postproduktion.

Ce qui échappe / The Elusive

Short Film | Belgium 2016 | Ely Chevillot | 18‘

Ce qui échappe

What the jury says:

The winner of the Short Film prize 2017 is the film Ce qui èchappeDas was entflieht or Das was ausbricht.

The 26 year-old Belgian director Ely Chevillot portrayed the theme abuse sensitively, with strong actors and with a new and daring approach. The film works with subtle and not always clear-cut moments that makes the audience want to ask questions.

Special Mention:

Mamma

Short Film | Norway 2016 | Julia Lindström | 25‘

Mamma

What the jury says:

The special mention goes to Mama by Julia Lindström.

In magical images the 34 year-old Norwegian director found a language for the “end of irresponsibility” that convinced us visually and in content, so that it should not stay unmentioned.  

Best Genre Film - 5.000 Euro

Includes prize money of 5.000 Euro, sponsored by ARRI Media and ARRI Rental.

Asteria

Animated Film | France 2016 | Alexandre Arpentinier | 5‘

Asteria

What the jury says:

Many genre films know how to apply the genre rules, such as science fiction film or horror film. However, sadly, between all these obvious things, one likes to forget the fundamentally most important thing: the story.
Asteria pulled us, the jury, into its creative world from the first moment on. In short, round, 5 minutes a very funny, sympathetic story is told, and brought to the point. At the end it offers us a snappy, interesting twist, that one can recognize and interpret through current political eyes, with a slight smirk. The film surprised us, entertained us and had a very clear and good message. Great job!und sehr gute Message. Top!

Special Mention:

Hard Way – The Action Musical

Feature Film | Germany 2017 | Daniel Vogelmann | 33‘

Hard Way - The Action Musical

What the jury says:

We all agreed that the film Hard Way – The Action Musical definitely deserved a special mention. It was a pleasure to follow this unusual mixture of two genres, namely the over-the-top American action film and the sometimes cheesy musical.Especially the courage to manoeuvre such a film into old-fashioned structures like a film school, as well as its perseverance, speaks for the film and team of Hard Way.

This is something genre films bring with them: it is a universal language spoken worldwide, that one has to learn, understand and know how to use.

Best Production - 3.000 Euro

Includes prize money of 2.000 Euro, sponsored by Ziegler Film and dcm. Furthermore MEDIAS Young Talents is donating a vehicle rental worth 1.000 Euro.

Watu Wote / All of us

Feature Film | Germany 2016 | P: Tobias Rosen | 22‘

Watu Wote

What the jury says:

As a leading filmmaker the producer of this production took the backseat and let the director take the lead so she could create this film in its fascinating and authentic nature. Herein the producer, with confident foresight, never lost the security of his team, that was partially in highly dangerous regions, and mastered this German-Kenian production. Professing Christians and strict Muslims were brought together and this is why Watu Wote by Tobias Rosen is an important symbol for humanity.

Special Mention:

Zwischen den Stühlen / To be a Teacher

Documentary | Germany 2016 | P: Marie-Luise Scharf | 101‘

Zwischen den Stühlen

What the jury says:

Producing films roughly means having an overview, good planning and budgeting. There is a quality, however, that makes special producers stand out. It is a particular pioneering spirit, the loyalty to the project as well as a fearless advance into an unknown future. All that can be found in Marie-Luise Scharf. Her longstanding work on Zwischen den Stühlen was a journey that she could have lost her nerve on. However, instead of giving up she found the much needed financing and used her own private resources.

We would like to reward this passion with a special mention.

Best Children Film - 2.500 Euro

Includes prize money of 2.500 Euro, sponsored by Jann Jakobs, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Potsdam.

Wolkenreiter / Cloud Rider

Short Film | Switzerland 2017 | Manuela Rüegg | 18‘

Wolkenreiter

What the jury says:

The jury’s decision was not easy, since every film has a special story or stands out through creative designs. Every one of us had a different favorite, but one film stood out especially.

We decided on the film that captured us through its impressive implementation of an interplay between animation and real film. What we liked a lot was the creative and exciting story that also conveyed a lot of emotion. The film’s protagonist had to overcome different hurdles that found interesting solutions and were excellently conveyed by the actor. Everything we expected, could be found in this film. For these reasons we chose Wolkenreiter as the winner and we would definitely recommend this film to our friends.

Best Youth Film - 2.500 Euro

A professional postproduction worth 2.500 Euro is donated by waveline.

Rocknrollertjes / Rocknrollers

Documentary | Netherlands 2016 | Daan Bol | 24‘

Rocknrollertjes

What the jury says:

The jury’s decision was not easy since all the films convinced us with the actors’ performances and their visually creative and varied implementation.

Ultimately we decided on the film that touched us the most. In this film different themes such as music, friendship and depression were conveyed. The artistic design impressed us especially, because it was filmed in an atypical camera format for which the settings are special. Moreover it is not the question “why?” but the question “what now?” that is central in this film. For all these reasons we chose Rocknrollers as the winning film.

Special Mention:

Millimeterle

Short Film | Switzerland 2016 | Pascal Reinmann | 15‘

Millimeterle

What the jury says:

This film stood out as a result of the two leading actors’ excellent performances, as well as the camera work. With haunting images a conflict between friendship and first sexual experiences is portrayed. This praising acknowledgement by the teen jury goes to the film Millimeterle by Pascal Reinmann.

Best Music Video - 2.000 Euro

Includes prize money of 2.000 Euro, sponsored by Berliner Pilsner.

MeTube 2: August sings Carmina Burana

Music Video| Austria 2016 | Daniel Moshel | 5‘

MeTube 2: August sings Carmina Burana

What the jury says:

We do not expect a lot from holiday video visuals, but here we receive a bouquet of ideas. A boring carnival day turns into a Sado-Maso-Operaorgy escalation. Nowadays we are rarely surprised with such unique ideas. The winning video is unanimously August sings Carmina Burana.

We congratulate the winner: Daniel Moshel

Best Screenplay- 2.000 Euro

Includes a prize money of 2.000 Euro, sponsored by Kuratorium junger deutscher Film. Furthermore Filmgeist is donating a Masterclass Screenwriting.

Dornröschen 2.0 – Eine Prinzessin wacht auf!

Screenplay| Germany 2016 | Gesa Scheibner

What the jury says:

Two dozen ideas on every page, original characters, an unbelieveable tempo and a love of writing that you can feel the entire time. Sleeping Beauty has arrived in the present and is as extraordinary in Gesa Scheibner’s version, as we have never seen her before. Brave, dusted off, dopey and obese – an ideal heroine for a film that will be fun for a large audience

Audience Award - 10.000 Euro

A professional postproduction worth 10.000 Euro, sponsored by Basis Berlin.

Watu Wote / All of us

Feature Film | Germany 2016 | P: Tobias Rosen | 22‘

Watu Wote

Gewinner 2017

Die Gewinner*innen des 46. Internationalen Studierendenfilmfestival Sehsüchte 2017:

Bester Spielfilm - 5.000 Euro

Dotiert mit 5.000 Euro, gestiftet von der ILB – Investitionsbank des Landes Brandenburg.

Hymyilevä Mies / The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki

Spielfilm | Finnland 2016 | Juho Kuosmanen | 93‘

Hymyilevä Mies

Das sagt die Jury:

Vom ersten Moment an wird man in diesen Film hinein gezogen. Durch sensible Figurenführung, mit liebevollen Szeneneinfällen, stimmigen Rhythmuswechseln und einer hervorragenden Besetzung bis in die kleinste Nebenrolle, versteht es der Regisseur uns in eine andere Zeit  mitzunehmen. Ein Sport, aber auch ein Liebesfilm, der dem klassischen Aufbau einer Geschichte und seinen Figuren vertraut. Wir sprechen allen Gewerken – Ausstattung, Maske, Kostüm, Kamera, besonders auch dem Ton – unsere Hochachtung aus, dass sie es geschafft haben, Juhos Vision wahrhaftig umzusetzen. Dieser Film ist präzise erzählt, mit überraschenden Wendungen und einer lebendigen Leichtigkeit. Mit Freude kamen wir zu einem einstimmigen Urteil: Herzlichen Glückwunsch: Hymyilevä Mies oder auch The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki

Bester Dokumentarfilm - 5.000 Euro

Dotiert mit 5.000 Euro, gestiftet vom rbb Fernsehen.

Hinter dem Schneesturm / Beyond the Snowstorm

Dokumentarfilm | Deutschland 2016 | Levin Peter | 92‘

Hinter dem Schneesturm

Das sagt die Jury:

Der Regisseur visualisiert auf besondere Weise das Erinnern als Prozess und inneren Kampf. Er konfrontiert uns mit einer Schuld und einem Schmerz, die die Zeiten überdauern. Die sehr persönlichen Annäherung ermöglicht es uns, eine Beziehung zu unserer eigenen Geschichte herzustellen und motiviert, den Dialog zwischen den Generationen zu suchen. Insbesondere durch die sensible Tongestaltung eröffnet sich eine vielschichtige Erzählung, die uns nicht loslässt.

Lobende Erwähnung:

Herr und Frau Müller / Mr and Mrs Mueller

Dokumentarfilm | Deutschland 2016 | Dominique Klein | 15‘

Herr und Frau Müller

Das sagt die Jury:

Es ist beeindruckend, wie man ein so schweres Thema auf so leichte und humorvolle Weise behandeln kann. Mit wenigen Strichen gelingt der Filmemacherin ein großer Liebesfilm in 14 Minuten.

Bester Kurzspielfilm - 2.500 Euro

Dotiert mit 2.500 Euro, gestiftet von Flare Films und Schnittlauch Postproduktion.

Ce qui échappe / The Elusive

Kurzfilm | Belgien 2016 | Ely Chevillot | 18‘

Ce qui échappe

Das sagt die Jury:

Der Gewinner des Kurzfilmpreises 2017 ist der Film Ce qui èchappeDas was entflieht oder Das was ausbricht.

Der 26-jährige belgische Regisseur Ely Chevillot hat auf sensible Weise und mit starken Schauspielern das Thema Missbrauch mit einem neuen und gewagten Ansatz umgesetzt. Dabei arbeitet der Film mit subtilen, nicht immer eindeutigen Momenten, die den Zuschauer Fragen stellen lassen.

Lobende Erwähnung:

Mamma

Kurzfilm | Norwegen 2016 | Julia Lindström | 25‘

Mamma

Das sagt die Jury:

Die lobende Erwähnung geht an Mamma von Julia Lindström.

In magischen Bildern hat die 34-jährige, norwegische Regisseurin für das „Ende der Verantwortungslosigkeit“ eine Sprache gefunden, die inhaltlich und visuell so überzeugt hat, dass er nicht unerwähnt bleiben soll.

Bester Genrefilm - 5.000 Euro

Dotiert mit 5.000 Euro, gestiftet von ARRI Media und ARRI Rental.

Asteria

Animationsfilm | Frankreich 2016 | Alexandre Arpentinier | 5‘

Asteria

Das sagt die Jury:

Viele Genrefilme wissen zwar wie sie die Genreregeln anzuwenden haben, wie ein Science-Fiction-Film oder ein Horrorfilm funktioniert, aber leider vergisst man bei all diesen offensichtlichen Dingen auch gern einmal das fundamental Wichtigste: die Geschichte.
Asteria hat uns als Jury vom erstem Moment an in seine etablierte Welt hineingezogen. In kurzen, runden 5 Minuten wird uns eine sehr lustige, sympathische Geschichte erzählt und auf den Punkt gebracht und offenbart am Ende einen knackigen und sehr guten Twist, den man auch mit aktuellem weltpolitischen Augenzwinkern lesen und deuten kann. Der Film hat uns überrascht, sehr gut unterhalten und eine klare und sehr gute Message. Top!

Lobende Erwähnung:

Hard Way – The Action Musical

Spielfilm | Deutschland 2017 | Daniel Vogelmann | 33‘

Hard Way - The Action Musical

Das sagt die Jury:

Einig waren wir uns, dass definitiv eine lobende Erwähnung für den Film Hard Way – The Action Musical auszusprechen ist. Es war eine schiere Freude, die ungewöhnliche Mischung aus zwei absolut konträren Genres, nämlich dem übertriebenen amerikanischem Actionfilm und dem vielleicht etwas schmalzigen Musical, zu verfolgen und sich darauf einzulassen.Schon allein der Mut, Filme solcher Art an vielleicht altbackenen Strukturen wie einer Filmhochschule vorbei zu manövrieren und auch das entsprechende Durchhaltevermögen an den Tag zu legen, spricht für den Film und das Team von Hard Way.
Auch das ist etwas, was Genrefilme mit sich bringen: Es ist eine universelle, weltweit gesprochene Sprache, die man lernen und verstehen kann und anzuwenden wissen muss.

Beste Produktion - 3.000 Euro

Dotiert mit 2.000 Euro, gestiftet von Ziegler Film und dcmZusätzlich stiftet MEDIAS Young Talents eine Fahrzeugvermietung im Wert von 1.000 Euro

Watu Wote / All of us

Spielfilm | Deutschland 2016 | P: Tobias Rosen | 22‘

Watu Wote

Das sagt die Jury:

Als federführender Filmemacher hat sich der Produzent bei dieser Produktion stets hinter die Regisseurin gestellt und ihr wirklich alles an die Hand gegeben, um den Film in dieser faszinierenden authentischen Art gestalten zu können.  Dabei hat er nie die Sicherheit des Teams in den teils hochgefährlich geltenden Regionen außer Acht gelassen und mit souveräner Weitsicht eine deutsch- kenianische Produktion gestemmt. Bekennende Christen und streng gläubige Muslime wurden während der Arbeit zusammengebracht und damit ist Watu Wote von Tobias Rosen ein wichtiges Symbol für Menschlichkeit.

Lobende Erwähnung:

Zwischen den Stühlen / To be a Teacher

Dokumentarfilm | Deutschland 2016 | P: Marie-Luise Scharf | 101‘

Zwischen den Stühlen

Das sagt die Jury:

Filme zu produzieren, bedeutet – auf den kleinsten Nenner heruntergebrochen – den Überblick zu haben, gut zu planen und hauszuhalten. Es gibt jedoch eine Qualität, die die besonderen Produzenten hervorhebt. Es ist dieser spezielle Pioniergeist, die Loyalität zum Projekt, sowie ein furchtloses Voranschreiten in eine ungewisse Zukunft. All das konnten wir bei Marie-Luise Scharf erkennen. Die jahrelange Arbeit an Zwischen den Stühlen war eine Reise, bei der sie oft den Mut hätte verlieren können. Doch statt aufzugeben, hat sie dringend notwendige Finanzierungsmittel aufgespürt und nicht zuletzt ihre privaten Ressourcen eingesetzt.

Diese Leidenschaft möchten wir besonders würdigen und mit einer LOBENDEN ERWÄHNUNG auszeichnen.

Bester Kinderfilm - 2.500 Euro

Dotiert mit 2.500 Euro, gestiftet von Jann Jakobs, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Potsdam.

Wolkenreiter / Cloud Rider

Spielfilm | Schweiz 2017 | Manuela Rüegg | 18‘

Wolkenreiter

Das sagt die Jury:

Die Entscheidung ist der Jury nicht leicht gefallen, denn jeder Film hat eine besondere Geschichte oder zeichnet sich durch eine kreative Gestaltung aus. Jeder von uns hatte unterschiedliche Favoriten, doch ein Film ist besonders herausgestochen.

Wir haben uns für den Film entscheiden, der uns besonders durch seine beeindruckende Umsetzung, einem Wechselspiel aus Animations- und Realfilm, überzeugt hat. Die fantasievolle Geschichte war spannend umgesetzt und hat dabei viele Gefühle vermittelt, was uns gut gefallen hat. Im Film musste sich der Hauptdarsteller immer wieder verschiedenen Hürden stellen, die einen guten Ausgang gefunden haben und durch sein Schauspiel überzeugend rübergebracht wurden. In diesem Film war alles drin, was wir von einem Film erwarten. Aus diesen Gründen haben wir uns für den Gewinnerfilm Wolkenreiter entschieden und würden den Film unseren Freunden weiterempfehlen.

Bester Jugendfilm - 2.500 Euro

Eine professionelle Postproduktion im Wert von 2.500 Euro, gestiftet von waveline.

Rocknrollertjes / Rocknrollers

Dokumentarfilm | Niederlande 2016 | Daan Bol | 24‘

Rocknrollertjes

Das sagt die Jury:

Die Entscheidung ist der Jury nicht sehr leicht gefallen, denn alle Filme haben uns aufgrund ihrer schauspielerischen Leistung überzeugt und waren auch visuell sehr unterschiedlich und kreativ toll umgesetzt.

Letztlich haben wir uns für den Film entschieden, der uns am meisten berührt hat. Im Film wurden viele unterschiedliche Themen wie z.B. Musik, Freundschaft und Depression verhandelt. Die künstlerische Gestaltung fanden wir besonders gut, weil es in einem nicht typischen Kameraformat gedreht wurde und die Einstellungen besonders für das Format sind. Zudem steht bei diesem Film nicht die Frage des „Warum?“ sondern die Frage des „Was nun?“ im Vordergrund. Aus all diesen Gründen haben wir uns für den Gewinnerfilm Rocknrollers entschieden.

Lobende Erwähnung:

Millimeterle

Kurzfilm | Schweiz 2016 | Pascal Reinmann | 15‘

Millimeterle

Das sagt die Jury:

Dieser Film hat sich besonders durch die herausragende schauspielerische Leistung der zwei Hauptdarsteller sowie die Kameraarbeit ausgezeichnet. Mit eindringlichen Bildern wird ein Konflikt zwischen Freundschaft und ersten Sexualitätserfahrungen bewegend erzählt. Die lobende Erwähnung der Jugendjury geht an den Film Millimeterle von Pascal Reinmann.

Bestes Musikvideo - 2.000 Euro

Dotiert mit 2.000 Euro, gestiftet von Berliner Pilsner.

MeTube 2: August sings Carmina Burana

Musikvideo | Österreich 2016 | Daniel Moshel | 5‘

MeTube 2: August sings Carmina Burana

Das sagt die Jury:

Man erwartet nicht viel durch die Urlaubsvideo-Optik und bekommt dann einen bunten Blumenstrauß voller Ideen. Ein stinknormales Jahrmarktstreiben entwickelt sich zu einer Sado-Maso-Opernorgien Eskalation. Selten werden wir heutzutage von so einzigartigen Ideen überrascht. Das Gewinnervideo ist einstimmig August sings Carmina Burana.

Wir gratulieren dem Gewinner: Daniel Moshel.

Bestes Drehbuch - 2.000 Euro

Dotiert mit 2.000 Euro, gestiftet von Kuratorium junger deutscher Film. Zusätzlich stiftet Filmgeist eine Masterclass Drehbuch.

Dornröschen 2.0 – Eine Prinzessin wacht auf!

Drehbuch | Deutschland 2016 | Gesa Scheibner

Das sagt die Jury:

Zwei Dutzend Einfälle auf jeder Seite, originelle Charaktere, ein irrsinniges Tempo und eine Freude am Schreiben, die man zu jeder Zeit spürt. Dornröschen ist in der Gegenwart angekommen und in Gesa Scheibners Version so ungewöhnlich, wie wir sie noch nie gesehen haben. Mutig, entstaubt, verplant und adipös – eine ideale Heldin für einen Film, der einem großem Publikum Spaß machen wird.

Publikumspreis - 10.000 Euro

Eine professionelle Postproduktion im Wert von 10.000 Euro, gestiftet von Basis Berlin.

Watu Wote / All of us

Spielfilm | Deutschland 2016 | P: Tobias Rosen | 22‘

Watu Wote